Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Feel the News

People hate it when you say humans have intrinsic value

Lessons from my Instagram comments section

On Monday this week I posted the above video on TikTok and Instagram. In this video, I say the fight against participation trophies was really a fight against the idea that humans have value for just existing. If you don’t watch the video, my conclusion was they fought against the trophies because giving a child a trophy for losing shows the child that they deserve adulation for just being. I’m not saying that trophies should exist, I was just saying that’s what this fight was about. What I learned from the comments I got was that it turns out there are actually a lot of people who are against humans having intrinsic value and they will openly share it online. I thought this was one of those opinions that people like to hide like liking pineapples on your pizza. I’m not ashamed to say I do like pineapple on my pizza. 

However, I should have known that with people's current openness with racism, homophobia, and transphobia, people are more likely to share their prejudices than their controversial pizza toppings.  What I wasn’t expecting is the amount of hate that I got from merely sharing my opinion that everyone having value would be a good culture. Turns out that capitalism has got quite a strong hold on people and they will defend it. Here is some of the hate mail that I got and what I think of the people who sent them. 

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Feel the News to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Feel the News
Feel the News
Authors
Feel the News